Quick Fire Reviews: September Edition

Quick Fire Reviews: September Edition

Check out the latest of our short and sweet reviews covering the latest tracks released by North East bands and artists.

For last month's edition click here.

Deep.Sleep - Soho
Release 7.9.17

A firm live favourite for some time, Newcastle's indie four-piece have finally released their anthemic tune 'Soho' as a single.
With its candid lyrics and catchy chorus this track is sure to stay in your head for days on end.

Cape Cub - Flowers
Release 8.9.17

Cape Cub returns at last with his new single 'Flowers', a clever blend of heartfelt ballad and club banger that will make you wish the summer would never end.
And in true Cape Cub style those lyrics are a thing of beauty: “Cause Flowers don't grow in the dark…”

Llovers - I Don't Mind
Release 8.9.17

With high expectations following 'Borderlands' and 'Feeling Sound', Llovers have stolen my heart once more with this deluxe dream pop anthem.
Heavenly vocal harmonies and a chorus that feels like a big comforting hug, I really don't mind how much I adore this track.

The Strands - Bloom
Release 1.9.17

'Bloom' is the Sunderland trio's latest single and has a real nostalgic 00's indie sound to it.
The energetic beats and rocky riffs are at their finest here, but the real highlight is the roaring lead vocals that grow in intensity before reaching their full “bloom” by the end of this short-lived banger.

Spotify link

Lhymes - Is This Life
Release 9.9.17

This debut single from Darlington’s newcomers Lhymes is a beautiful dream pop sensation.
Full of chilled harmonies and soothing riffs it will give you shivers and big happy feelings alike. This band certainly has a sound that I can't wait to hear more of.

Callum Pitt - Rabbits
Released: 22.9.17

The latest track from Newcastle’s Indie-Folk sensation Callum Pitt superbly showcases his unique falsetto voice and thought provoking song-writing skills. With its soothing guitar riffs, beautiful piano melodies and rousing chorus 'Rabbits' is magically captivating from start to end.
Check out our full review here: 

Sam Fender – Millennial
Released: 22.9.17

North East singer Sam Fender has been getting huge exposure since the release of his first two singles and with the equally brilliant follow up single there seems no stopping him. At just 1:45min long Millennial is a fiery blend of Sam’s bluesy vocals, twanging guitars and thumping drum beats which will leave you craving to hear this one again and aga

Seeing Hands - Take Me Back
Released 25.9.17

Newcastle’s dream-pop trio Seeing Hands seem incapable of putting out a bad song, as their brand new track called 'Take Me Back' proves. The stunning melodies and guitar riffs are a pure attack on the senses as is the equally beautiful music video released to accompany the new single. A song to simply lose yourself into.

Crying Lions - Young & Careful
Released: 26.9.17

After a short hiatus, Crying Lions have made an unexpected and explosive return to the music scene by releasing their debut single “Young & Careful”. A pure gold indie anthem which is taking no prisoners. Its fierce, it’s youthful and it’s made for losing your mind to in a sweaty mosh pit. A track that certainly sets a high musical benchmark and giving us high expectations for Crying Lions’ future.

Spotify Link

The Pale White EP
Released 30.9.17

2017 has already been incredibly successful for Newcastle’s favourite rock trio, and it's safe to say that the release of their self-titled EP has been long awaited.
The four track EP includes three of the band's previously released (and much loved) songs 'Reaction', 'Turn It Around' And 'Downer'; as well as the equally catchy and high-powered re-released track 'Let You Down'.
The Vinyl version also features a hidden track that beautifully rounds off the debut EP; the release of which no doubt is a proud moment for the band as well as the north east music scene as a whole.

A New Nowhere - Lightning
Released 30.9.17

The latest single from Newcastle’s A New Nowhere is a brilliant classic rock track that very much reminds me of the early days of Biffy Clyro. All in all this is a high-voltage track that is getting us charged up and excited for the band's upcoming debut album 'Empire'.
The band have also released a cracking video for 'Lightning' which we highly recommend checking out.





You can also check out all of these tracks and more in our Soundcloud playlist below!

Album Review: Ceiling Demons - Nil

Album Review: Ceiling Demons - Nil

Interview: Phase and Twist Helix

Interview: Phase and Twist Helix